When a production workflow that has pending tasks associated with it is edited and replaced with an updated version, pending tasks will contain the changes the next time they are "performed" from the task list. For example, let's say you
- Add or delete controls in a signed section and there are workflows pending in flight that have already been signed.
- Add/remove a field that was used in a business rule; ex: Add/remove a column from a table that was used in a calculation.
- Change a spreadsheet that you are reading from or writing to using the Google connector.
When you edit a workflow and change business rule or add/remove fields, all the pending tasks pick up the latest version of the workflow. Pending tasks for a form/workflow that integrates with a Google sheet reflects any changes made to the Google sheet while the tasks are in-flight.
There are some restrictions if you want to update a production workflow without causing problems in existing flows workflows that are in-process:
- If you add new controls, and make them required/mandatory, then the
- workflows which are already in-process might get stuck. This can happen if the controls that you added are visible in prior steps of
- workflow, but they are hidden (via rules) in later steps. If an existing
- workflow has already reached later steps when you add these required controls, then there won’t be any value in these hidden controls when user loads his step. As these required controls are empty,
- won’t allow the user to submit his step
So you will have to think about how the newly added controls affect existing flows
- . A work-around could be to use a business rule to make these control not required if the
- workflow was started before certain date.
- When you edit existing controls in the
of the flow
- workflow, you will have to make certain that underlying schema
- does not change. For example, if you have some controls in a Section, and you edit the
of the flow
- workflow and move these controls outside that section or to a different section, this will change the underlying schema
- , and will cause the existing in-process
- workflows to not work correctly.
- We recommend that you do not
- change the base structure/schema of your
- workflows once they are in production
The best approach is to finish all existing flows, before changing the workflowworkflows before uploading/replacing with the edited version. You can prevent users from starting new flows workflows (while you are waiting for existing flows workflows to finish) by temporarily changing the Access Control for Who can start the form/workflow? to "Designer/Owner only" that no one else can access it.