Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

Easy Heading Free
headingIndent0
expandOptiondisable-expand-collapse
navigationExpandOptiondisable-expand-collapse

The form/workflow visibility feature is integrated with the Access Control feature. Both features open the same wizard where you may specify form/workflow permissions or grant view/edit submission permissions to specific users/roles. The form/workflow visibility property is discussed here. 

Setting Visibility for Forms/Workflows

The 

Frevvoproduct
 designer can specify the visibility of a form/workflow from either the Forms and Workflows Homepage or the Guided Designer: Settings mode.

  • On the Forms and Workflows Home Page: Click the Action Menu on a form/workflow and select Set Permissions.
  • In the Guided Designer: Settings mode, open the Access Control tab.
    Workflow:

    Form:
Excerpt

The default value for forms is Anyone (login not required) and for workflows is Authenticated Users (login required). The designer can select one of the following choices to specify form/workflow visibility. 

  • Anyone (login not required) - anyone can use it even if they are not logged in. A form/workflow made public this way is accessible to anyone with the form/workflow's URL. The other options have higher levels of security. See form security for details.
  • Authenticated Users (login required) - the form is usable to anyone who has an account (username/password) and is logged in to your tenant. 
  • Designers/Owner Only - only the designer user who created the form/workflow (owner) can use it. They must be logged into
    Frevvoproduct
    .
  • Custom - The designer may configure selected users and/or roles (i.e. users with these roles) to have runtime access to the form. Users and Roles can be selected via an editable combo-box control. As the user types, 

    Frevvoproduct
     will try to find any roles and users in the tenant that contain the typed string. Up to 5 matches are displayed below the combo box. Selecting a role/user from the dropdown inserts the selection into the list. 

    Info

    The owning designer always has access to the form/workflow, even when Custom permissions are used. 

Click Submit or continue with the next option in the Access Control wizard. 

Note
  • When 
    Frevvoproduct
     is embedded in another product such as Atlassian's Confluence wiki, you do not have access to the icons described above.
  • Templates are not supported for this permission.

User Experience

Users who have "Who can start the form/workflow" access will see the form/workflow and be able to fill it out when it is shared with them (e.g. via a share link, Space, or embedded in a website.) If the permission is set to authenticated users and/or roles, the user must be logged in to see the form/workflow.

Users who are not logged in and trying to access a form/workflow with "Who can start the form/workflow" permission set to all or custom authenticated users will be prompted to log in.

Logged in users who do not have "Who can start the form/workflow" access will see an error message when they try to access the form: "Error Access Denied. Authentication required. Are you trying to access a private form or workflow?" This error will never be shown when this permission is set to Anyone (login not required).

Public forms that include the save/load feature or digital signatures will prompt the user with the login screen when they click to save or sign. These

Frevvoproduct
features require a login.

Deploying to Production

You can publish any form/workflow regardless of the Who can start the form/workflow? permission. Publishing involves sharing your form/workflow with users (e.g. via a share URL, embedding in Space, or embedding in your website). Set the Deployment State to "Production" via the Form/Workflow Settings or the Action Menu to remove the watermark and (for Cloud customers) begin counting submissions towards your license.

Editing Forms/Workflows in Production

If you set the form/workflow visibility to anything other than "Designer/Owner only" and users have begun submitting it, you'll need to use caution when modifying your form. If users access it while you are editing it, they will see error messages indicating that the page is being refreshed or that the form is invalid. 

Please see the Administrator Best Practices for Updating a Form/Workflow in Production.

Info

ACL settings set by the designer are retained when you download/upload a form/workflow/project to another designer user in the same or different tenant and when you copy a form/workflow.

Other Permissions

The designer can set other permissions via the Access Control wizard such as roles and users that can edit the form/workflow, view/edit submissions, view the audit trail or be designated as workflow administrators