There are two ways you can test your workflows.
Method 1: Click the save and test icon from within the workflow designer to save the changes to your workflow and automatically display the test popup window. Complete the workflow in the popup window to test it. When your testing is completed and the test mode screen is closed you will be returned to page in the workflow designers where you clicked the save and test icon. This makes it easy to make additional changes.
Method 2: Click the save and exit icon on the Workflow Designer toolbar to save the changes to your workflow and exit the workflow designer. Then click the Test icon for the workflow on the Forms and Workflows Home Page to enter Test Mode. Complete the workflow in the popup window to test it.
Both methods display the test mode popup which includes the Test Mode Views discussed below.
It is important to note that both Test methods allow the designer to test the steps of a workflow until the workflow is routed to a different user. Once a step is routed to a different user, testing must continue by Using the Task List. For example,
On This Page:
The save and test feature reduces workflows development time by allowing designers to test workflows, business rules and mapped PDFs without leaving the workflow designer. Modifications needed after testing can be quickly addressed since you will still be in the workflows designer once you close the popup window. This is particularly helpful when building, troubleshooting, and testing workflows, business rules and mapped PDFs.
When the save and test is clicked, the workflows is saved in the background, and the Test popup window displays reflecting the newly saved version of your workflows. The workflows will behave exactly as it will when users access it. To test the workflows, just complete it as your users would and click Submit. When you close the Test popup, you will be on whatever designer page you were on when the save and test icon was clicked. This allows the designer to go right back to making changes after closing the Test popup.
You will see the save and test icon:
If you use the Save and Test feature to save the latest versions when developing your workflows, simply click the Cancel icon when you are ready to leave the designer. Refer to Test Mode Views for information about the features that are available when the test popup displays.
If your browser is configured to block popups, you may see this message the first time you click the save and test icon. If so, click Ok to open the test window then check your browser settings to allow pop-ups.
Of course, you can always click the save and exit icon to save the changes to your workflows but you will be returned to the Forms and Workflows Home Page after the changes are stored. The test popup is accessed by clicking the Test icon. To continue making modifications to your workflows you must click the name of the workflow, or select Edit from the Action Menu to return to the workflows designer for subsequent modifications.
Refer to Test Mode Views for information about the features that are available when the test popup displays.
Features that are available when the test popup displays are discussed below.